Abstracts Submission
Registration Info
Scientific Program
Young Scientists
Nobel Laureates
Exhibitors & Sponsors
Puerto Rico
Organizing Committee
Hotel Reservations
Travel & Accomodation
US Visa Information
Request Info
Download Page

Official Sponsors:






43rd IUPAC Congress Prizes and Awards

IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists

Winners of the 2010 and 2011 IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists

International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) give the report the winners of the 2010 and 2011 IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists awarded for the best PhD theses in the chemical sciences as described in 1000-word essays. The Winners are:

Year 2011 (IYC) Year 2010 (IYC)

Year 2010 (IYC)

Rubén Costa Riquelme
University of Valencia (Spain)

Guangbin Dong,
Stanford University (USA)

William Donald
University of California, Berkeley (USA)

Viktoria Gessner
Technical University Dortmund (Germany)

Matthew Macauley
Simon Fraser University (Canada)

Rafal Klajn,
Northwestern University (USA)

Bozhi Tian
Harvard University (USA)

Jason Spruell
Northwestern University (USA)

Sheng Xu
Georgia Institute of Technology (USA)

Guihua Yu, USA
Harvard University (USA)

Chengqi Yi
University of Chicago (USA)


The awards will be presented to the winners of the 2010 and 2011 prizes during the Opening Ceremony of the Congress. Also, each prizewinner will be present a poster describing his work at this IUPAC 2011 Congress, San Juan, Puerto Rico.

IUPAC Young Scientists

For the young scientists the organizers of the 43rd IUPAC World Chemistry Congress, Colegio de Quimicos de Puerto Rico (CQPR) and International Union of Chemistry of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC) have established different programs, in order to targeted young scientists from developing and economically disadvantaged countries; and for chemists from any country. The awards were to qualified candidates as a contribution to attend the Congress. Below is the list of Young Scientist Awardees:

Csaba Janáky
University of Szeged ( Hungary)

Andrew Lamm
University of Technology (Jamaica)

Luis Octávio Regasini
São Paulo State University – UNESP (Brazil)

Nuno Manuel Xavier
University of Lisbon (Portugal)

Dimitar Dimitrov
Agricultural University (Bulgaria)

Ramesh T Subramaniam
University of Malaysia (Malaysia)

Juan A. Santana
Technical University of Munich (Germany)

B. Jagan Mohan Reddy
Adikavi Nannaya University (India)

Vladimir Gubala
Biomedical Diagnostics Institute (Ireland)

Sojinu Olatunbosun
Redeemer's University (Nigeria)

Umut Bulut
Middle East Technical University (Turkey)

Lee Grant Gonzalez
Cardiff University (United Kingdom)

Maria Quintana
National University of Engineering (Peru)

Ivan Kozyatnyk
Bila Tserkva JSC Science-Industrial Centre (Ukraine)

Zarko Mitic
University of Niš-Italy (Serbia)

Holly E. Carpenter Desai
North Georgia College and State Univ. (USA)

Daniel Gromadzki
Delft University of Technology (The Netherlands)

Julius N. Korley
Case Western Reserve University (USA)

Liza Rassaei
University of Twente (The Netherlands)

Devin G. Barrett
North Western University (USA)

Francesco Mauriello
Universita degli Studi Mediterranea (Italy)

christine hernandez
University of the Philippines (Philippine)

Minyong Li(李敏勇)
School of Pharmacy, Shandong University (China)

Iryna Shevchuk
National Pedagogical Dragomanov Univ. (Ukraine)

Jaroslava Svarc-Gajic
University of Novi Sad Serbia (Serbia)

Marcela Ovalle Marroquin
Universidad Autonoma del Yucatan (Mexico)

Radu Corneliu
Lab of Chemistry and Nutrition Physiology (Romania)

Christoforos G. Kokotos
University of Athens (Greece)

Ekpunobi (Nee Egenti)
Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka (Nigeria)


Puerto Rico Young Scientists

The Young PR Scientists Program Recognizes 15 Awardees During this year’s 43rd IUPAC World Chemistry Congress and 70th PR Chemistry Conference and Exhibition (IUPAC 2011), fifteen young Puerto Rican scientists from throughout the island and abroad will be recognized as part of the Young Puerto Rican Scientists Program. The program was created as a joint effort between the Colegio de Químicos de PR Organizing Committee and the Science, Technology & Research Trust (The Technology Trust) in order to encourage young Puerto Rican chemists and scientists in the allied fields of the chemical sciences to participate in this year’s Congress events.

The awardees include:

Raúl R. Ródriguez Berríos
University of Texas at Austin, Austin - TX

Kermin Martinez Hernandez
University of Wisconsin, Madison - WI

José G. Rivera
Northwestern University, Chicago - IL

Ruth Pietri Melendez
Brookhaven National Laboratories, Upton - NY

Ruth G. León
Maine Medical Center, Portland - ME

Juan A. Santana
Technical University of Munich - Germany

Dalice Piñero
Universite de Rennes (France)
Adriana P. Herrera
Nano Essentials Corp. – Mayagüez - PR

José A. Rodríguez Martínez
University of Wisconsin, Madison - WI

Ileana I. Rodríguez Vélez
University of Puerto Rico, Humacao - PR

Arseima Y. Del Valle Pinero
NIH, Bethesda, MD

Edmy J. Ferrer Torres
Inter American University, Ponce, PR

Agustín Díaz
Texas A & M University – College Station - TX

Walleska De Jesús Bonilla
University of Puerto Rico, Aguadilla – PR

David Sanabria
Inter American University, Metro Campus - PR

We would also like to acknowledge the financial support and collaboration of the Technology Trust and the members of the Young PR Scientists program committee: Jesüs Soriano, MD/Ph.D./MBA (from Technology Trust), Gabriel Infante, Ph.D. (Chairman of the IUPAC 2011 Organizing Committee and IUPAC Delegate); Néstor Carballeira, Ph.D. (Co-chair IUPAC Congress Scientific Program) and Carlos A. Tollinche, Ph.D. (Vice Chairman Organizing Committee and IUPAC Delegate).

Academic Sponsors:

Puerto Rico Government Sponsors: